Home » National Nutrition Month » Knowing When to Listen to Your Body

Knowing When to Listen to Your Body

It’s been kind of a weird week for me. Last Monday I was overly ambitious and pumped out a few too many squats and lunges, leaving me pretty sore on Tuesday. Even though I was supposed to run that day I decided to just give myself some time to recuperate. (Seriously though, it was tough getting up and down at my desk at work! Silly me.) Then Wednesday came around, still a little sore but this time I just let time get away from me. I got home from work late, hungry, and just really didn’t feel like working out at 9:30/10pm. By the time Thursday came around I was plenty recovered but just spent mentally. Another 12 hour work day and the dreaded feeling of working out after it. Now I know, I could just wake up early and get it done and out of the way right? Well that just doesn’t work for me either. I am not a morning person. At. All. I have been getting up at various early morning hours for the past 3 years (ranging from 4:30-8am on most days) And I tell you I am still not used to getting up early. Even on the days I wake up at 4:30/5, I still don’t fall asleep until about midnight or so. I’m just a night person, it’s who I am. Anyway, point of the story is that workouts don’t happen in the morning for me.

Finally Friday comes around. I hadn’t worked out in 3 days so I was determined to get a run in. I work from 5:30am-12:30pm on Fridays so it’s nice to have the afternoon to get things done. I got home, ate lunch, and headed out about an hour later. For some reason though my body decided to hate on me. On my way back, around mile 3.5 out of 4.5, I felt my blood sugar plummet and it made me nervous. I am plenty used to it (it used to happen more often back in college) but I just hadn’t had it happen in a while and it was unexpected since I had already eaten. I don’t carry money with me either on my runs (why would I?!) so I couldn’t stop at a shop for juice either. Instead I just cautiously walked the mile home, hoping I wouldn’t pass out along the way. When I got back, I had some orange juice and just felt pretty bummed about the whole thing. It had started off as a pretty good run before that.

So to top off the week, Saturday comes around and it is raining all day. I had wanted to go for a bike ride but that option was out. Instead I planned to jump on the elliptical since it was cross-training day. That wasn’t in the cards either though. I had this faint pain in my chest intermittently throughout the day, nothing I thought was too serious but I didn’t want to chance working out. I had dropped my husband off to the airport that morning, so I joked with a friend that I get sick every time he goes away – I must be heartsick (haha I crack myself up!). But really, there went another day of missed training.

On Sunday, everything seemed to be in working order but it was still raining so I ended up on the treadmill. Totally boring but I managed to complete my “long run” of 7 miles and felt decent. My hips were hurting at the end but everything else was okay.

So what lesson do I take from all this? Listen to your body. I may have missed a few days this week but it’s better to do that than risk injury.

And on a side note – today is the last day of National Nutrition Month! How sad! But you don’t have to limit yourself to just one month. Every month can be nutrition month if you keep up your healthy habits. Open-mouthed smile

Leave a Reply

